Soupfest!


IMG_2517OK, so you’ve probably noticed that the last couple of days has been a bit of a soup fest for me.  One of my wisdom teeth had an encounter with the dentist and lost, so I’m on a diet of ‘warm, soft food’ for the time being and was keen to make the most of the seasonal ingredients to hand. To that end I’ve made up 3 batches of some of my favourite soups, tailored to my current orthodontic limitations (i.e., no hard, big lumps and nothing chewy).  I don’t see why I should have to resort to bland baby food for the next few days when I can enjoy top quality meals, so on the menu is:

Creamy Leek and Stilton Soup, a tasty spin on the traditional Leek and Potato with some of the first homegrown leeks of the season

Pumpkin and Chickpea soup – I’d meant to write this one up a couple of weeks ago with the original combination of a hint of curry spices and toasted sunflower seeds – it was terrific!  I’ve replaced the seeds with chickpeas this time around and played around with the spices and I can honestly say it’s just as good

My favourite Spicy Tomato and Lentil soup – this time I made several changes to the method, stewing the tomatoes down for much longer, then blitzing down and sieving off before adding the water and lentils. This gave a terrific texture, losing the skins and emphasising the lentils.  I also added a couple of teaspoons of pesto and a handful of shredded basil leaves at the end

Just because you’re feeling a bit under the weather doesn’t mean you have to compromise on what you eat.  I’m putting batches of these in the freezer for the next few days!

Leave a comment