Day 4 – Something Green Smoothie


I wouldn’t go so far as saying that I missed the greens yesterday, but they have been contributing to a feeling that I’m doing the right thing.  Don’t get me wrong, yesterday’s breakfast hit the spot and is something I’ll be trying again, but I think I need to compensate today.  That said, I’m still not feeling strong enough to break out that bag of kale…

  • Handful Spinach
  • 2-3 sticks Celery
  • 1 Apple, cored
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Pumpkin Seed Butter
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 3 Tbsp Parsley
  • 1/2 Lime, Juice & zest
  • 1Tbsp Flax Seeds
  • 375ml Coconut Water
  • A pinch of Sea Salt

 

Well, it’s definitely green.  And it tastes green.  Very green.  That flat-leaved parsley really dominates the flavours and it really adds a bitter edge.  It takes some time to get used to but going down slowly.  Only after a while do I start to appreciate the creaminess from the avocado, but not of the other flavours make it past the parsley.  It’s still too big – maybe only a teaspoon next time and I need to cut down everything else by about a third…

I have to admit that this is the first one of the experiment that I’ve failed to finish.  I was keen to try herbs but a little goes a long way.  I’ll be thinking very hard before I try this again and a revised recipe needs to strike quite a different balance!

Leave a comment