Alex’s Fruity Flapdoodles


IMG_0860Introduction

Hi, I’m Alex and I am very proud to be typing on my daddy’s blog. My recipe for fruity flapdoodles is a big hit in our house, but I thought the name flapjack sounded too boring, flapdoodles sounds much more exciting!

I love cooking, and I particularly like flapdoodles because the acidity of the cherries and juicy blueberries combine really well with the sweetness of the syrup and crunchiness of the oats.  I hope you enjoy my recipe!

Ingredients

  • 200g Margarine
  • 100g Sugar (we used about 60g dark soft brown and 40g Demerara)
  • 100g Golden Syrup
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 165g Rolled Oats
  • 165g Porridge Oats
  • 60g fresh Blueberries
  • 20g dried Sour Cherries

Method

  • Put the margarine, sugar & golden syrup in a microwaveable bowl and heat until the ingredients have turned to liquid.
  • Meanwhile you could be lining a 20cm * 30cm baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  • When the liquid comes out of the microwave oven, stir the cinnamon into the liquid.
  • Pour both types of oats into the liquid and mix thoroughly.
  • Tip the blueberries and cherries into the mixture and stir carefully. You need to try not to burst the blueberries before it goes in the oven to cook
  • Pour the mixture into the baking tin you lined earlier and press flat.
  • Bake the flapdoodles at 180 degrees Celsius (Fan) for 25 minutes to half an hour. I like my flapdoodles quite crunchy.  If you prefer a softer flapdoodle, try reducing the temperature by 10 degrees.
  • Cut four strips down and four strips across before it sets but leave it in the tin
  • Leave the flapdoodles to cool and set and then it’s time to eat them!!!
IMG_0854
Hi! I’m Alex and I love my flapdoodles!
One Comment Add yours

  1. They look lovely, clever girl! x

Leave a Reply

