Cauliflower Puree



Normally when I have cauliflower & chicken to use, that’s just the excuse I need for either a Goan Gobi or Murgh Gobi (I must write those up on the blog…), but today I fancied something a little more subtle.  Yes, I know, not a word that often crops up in my vocabulary but nonetheless, I was struck with the need for an alternative.  What’s more, Masterchef is back, so I was inspired to do something a it more cheffy than usual.  A subtly spiced Cauliflower Puree, on which I served a delicious Chicken & Vegetable pie (I’ll save that recioe for another day also…).  This quantity served 2 very generous helpings with some left over – if you wanted to take the cheffyness to extremes, I’m sure it would serve 8 as a vegeatable!

Cooking Time – approx 15  minutes

Serves 2-4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 a large (or 1 small) Cauliflower, broken into florets 
  • Vegetable stock (or salted water)
  • 1 oz Butter
  • 1/2 tsp Garam Masala
  • 4 fl oz Cream
  • Salt  Pepper to taste

Method

  • Bring the stock or salted water up to the boil and add the cauliflower.  Boil gently until the cauliflower is tender (about 5-10 minutes, depending on size) 
  • Drain off the liquid (save this to use as a veg stock in something else!) and transfer the cauliflower to a food processor
  • Add the butter and garam masala and start to blitz
  • Add the cream and process until smooth
  • Season with salt & pepper to taste

How easy is that???

Leave a Reply

