Creole Mushroom and Sausage Pasta


An interesting spin on the creamy pasta sauce. The wine adds an a subtle piquancy. Increase the amount of seasoning for more spice. What’s Cajun Seasoning? I picked up a jar of this on holiday – rated as the best authentic spice mix available. When it runs out, I’ll just have to come up with my own recipe (assuming I can’t justify another holiday to the States!).

In an ideal world, this recipe would use a good quality spicy sausage. As I’ve said previously, the best I can do is a decent chorizo. It’s not the same, but it’s as good as I can get. My creole recipes are regularly compromised by a lack of lack of authentic ingredients, my cajun rcipes even moreso. Afterall, when’s the last time you came across a squirrel or opossum in Tescos? The best I can come up with is roadkill, or if I need something fresher, maybe next door’s cat. I digress…

This recipe would be great with chicken or shellfish (not that this is something I’d try – anyone who knows me will tell you that hate fish of all kinds, so my holiday in New Orleans was a little limited from a culinary perspective…)

Cooking Time – approx 30 minutes

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Onions, finely chopped
  • 3 stick Celery, finely chopped
  • 1 Green Pepper, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves Garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp Cajun Seasoning
  • 120g Chorizo, diced
  • 2 tbsp Plain Flour
  • 1 glass Dry White Wine
  • 125ml Vegetable Stock
  • 250ml Double Cream
  • 120g Chestnut Mushrooms
  • 250g fresh Pasta Shapes

Method

  • Sweat the onion, celery and pepper in the olive oil for 3-4 minutes, and stir in the garlic and cajun seasoning. Cook for another minute
  • Add the sausage and cook through for 5 minutes of so, releasing the oils from the chorizo
  • Stir in the flour well and add the wine and stock. Continue to stir well, ensuring no lumps form. Bring to the boil for a couple of minutes to burn off the alcohol then stir in the cream.
  • Add the mushrooms and stir well. Cover and simmer for 5 minutes.
  • In a seperate pan, cook the pasta in salted water and drain.
  • Stir the cooked pasta into the sauce and serve with a chilled dry white wine.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Mart says:

    Hi, just tried your recipe, using chicken. Just gorgeous, thanks!

Leave a Reply

